15 Sun Devils Receive All-Pac-12 Honors

Arizona Sports News online

On Tuesday night, the Pac-12 conference announced their All-Conference performers and there was 15 members of the 2014 Arizona State Sun Devils listed.

Headlining the players on the conferences first team included Offensive Tackle Jamil Douglas, Safety Damarious Randall and Wide Receiver Jaelen Strong. Making second team is running back D.J. Foster, kicker Zane Gonzalez and center Nick Kelly. The former Saguaro product Foster has now been named All-Conference all three years with ASU.

The nine ASU players receiving honorable mention recognition includes: defensive lineman Marcus Hardison, defensive back Lloyd Carrington, Jordan Simone and offensive guards Vi Teofilo and Christian Westerman, linebackers Salamo Fiso, Laiu Moeakiola, and D.J. Calhoun and running back Demario Richard.

The 46 all-conference honorees in the past three seasons under head coach Todd Graham are the most in school history in a three-year span.

Also announced on Tuesday, quarterback Taylor Kelly was the Pac-12 Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2014 season. He is the 26th Sun Devil athlete to earn the Pac-12’s Scholar Athlete of the Year Award and joins Mike Nixon, who received the recognition in 2009, as the only ASU football student-athletes to be recognized.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

The Sun Devils await their fate for bowl season which will be announced on Sunday.

Next Reads