Seven Wildcats recognized as All-Pac-12 performers

The Pac-12 league office announced on Monday that seven members of the Arizona Wildcats football team had recognized with the conference’s annual awards.

The seven are spotlighted by sophomore running back Ka’Deem Carey who was named as a first-team selection by the Pac-12 after leading the conference as well as the nation in rushing with 1,757 yards going into the bowl game. He set the Wildcats  all time mark for yards in a season in the first quarter of the last game against Arizona State breaking Trung Candidate’s record which he set in 1999.

Carey averaged 146.42 yards per game and had 21 total touchdowns on the season which was good for third in the nation and second in the conference. On November 10th against Colorado, he broke the single game rushing records for the school and the conference with 366 yards which is the most by a player in BCS conferences this season. Carey is the first Wildcat running back to be named to the first team since Clarence Farmer in 2001.

Two Wildcat players were selected to the conference’s second team. Senior quarterback Matt Scott as well as sophomore wide receiver Austin Hill.

Scott is the first Arizona quarterback to be named to the second team since 2008 when Willie Tuitama was recognized. Scott was the conferences second ranked passer total yards with 3,238 and was also one of the nation’s top rushing quarterbacks with 485 yards and five rushing touchdowns on the year. In the overtime loss to Stanford this season, Scott set a school and conference single-game record with 45 completions and 69 attempts.

Hill was a very pleasant surprise for Arizona right from game one of the season with his acrobatic catches and his big play ability. He too was named to the conference’s second team after a season with 73 receptions, 1,189 yards and nine touchdowns. Hill is a Biletnikoff award semifinalist ranking second in the Pac-12 and ninth in the nation for total receiving yards. Hill had 50 catches that resulted in a first down this season.

Senior wide receiver Dan Buckner, senior center Kyle Quinn, junior linebacker Jake Fischer and former walk-on, sophomore safety Jared Tevis were named All-Pac-12 honorable mention.

Arizona football anxiously awaits the location of their final game of the season as bowl games are announced on December 2nd.

Next Reads